avec Boulez, Mallarmé, et Foucault

Saman Samadi's Avec Boulez, Mallarmé, et Foucault (2022) functions as a transformative platform that engenders a critical examination of preceding musical and literary compositions, as well as scholarly treatises, by means of methodical experimentation. This undertaking involves a scrutiny of Pierre Boulez's "Notations pour piano," the poetic oeuvre of Stéphane Mallarmé, and the writings of both Boulez and Michel Foucault. Through this process, this project aims to unearth hitherto undiscovered potentials and interconnected themes within these source materials. This initiative further entails the systematic deconstruction of these extant works, their reappropriation via performative methodologies, and the introduction of innovative modalities of interpretation and communication. Subsequently, it culminates in their reconstruction through an imaginative synthesis in performance. Additional information are available in the following video recordings featuring the Cambridge University Experimental Music Ensemble, directed by Saman Samadi.

Creator and Director: Saman Samadi

Coby O'Brien, flute 

Ella Nixon, clarinet
Eric Petzoldt, saxophone

Valentina Ciniglio, saxophone

Dan Phillips, violin

Alice Drury, violin

Emily Abbott, violin 

Bethany Norman, violin

Nicky Swett, cello

Gregory May, double bass 

David Cotter, guitar

Kristin Barone-Samadi, piano
Lea Luka Tiziana, voice

Reuben Bance, voice

Photo Credits

Pierre Boulez: Joost Evers/Anefo/Nationaal Archief
Stéphane Mallarmé: Paul Nadar/Sotheby's
Michel Foucault: Alexis Duclos/AP/REX/

Header photo: Sylvano Bussotti, Piano Piece #3, 1959.