avec Boulez, Mallarmé, et Foucault

Saman Samadi creates a piece operating an experimental space for problematizing past musical and literary works as well as scholarly texts, through experimentation — by a critical reflection on Boulez’s Notations pour piano, poems by Mallarmé, and scholarly texts by Boulez & Foucault, and discovering new potentials and common threads between them; deconstructing these existing works and utilizing them through performative approaches, through new modes of interpretation and communication, and reconstructing them through a creative assemblage in performance. More information is provided in the recordings below.

Creator and Director: Saman Samadi

Coby O'Brien, flute

Ella Nixon, clarinet
Eric Petzoldt
, saxophone

Valentina Ciniglio, saxophone

Dan Phillips, violin

Alice Drury, violin

Emily Abbott, violin

Bethany Norman, violin

Nicky Swett, cello

Gregory May, double bass

David Cotter, guitar

Kristin Barone-Samadi, piano
Lea Luka Tiziana, voice

Reuben Bance, voice

  • 10 May, 1:10 PM
    Cambridge University Lunchtime Concert Series
    West Road Concert Hall, Faculty of Music

  • 14 May, 1:30 PM
    Wolfson College Music Society
    Lunchtime Concert Series

    Lee Hall, Wolfson College

Photo Credits

Pierre Boulez: Joost Evers/Anefo/Nationaal Archief
Stéphane Mallarmé: Paul Nadar/Sotheby's
Michel Foucault: Alexis Duclos/AP/REX/

Header photo: Sylvano Bussotti, Piano Piece #3, 1959.